Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar Launched Horticulture Cluster Development Programme

Union Minister of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, Narendra Singh Tomar virtually launched the Horticulture Cluster Development Programme (CDP). Initially, the programme will be implemented in a pilot phase in 12 horticulture clusters out of the total 53 clusters selected for the programme.


CDP will be implemented by the National Horticulture Board (NHB) of the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare (MoA&FW).

Key points:

i.CDP will benefit about 10 lakh farmers and related stakeholders of the value chain, improve exports of the targeted crops by ~ 20 percent, and attract an estimated investment of Rs 10,000 crore after being implemented in all the 53 clusters.

ii.These 12 clusters will be implemented through Cluster Development Agencies (CDAs); they will be appointed on the recommendations of the respective State/UT Government.

About Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare (MoA&FW)

Union Minister – Narendra Singh Tomar (Morena, Madhya Pradesh)

Minister of State – Parshottam Rupala (Rajya Sabha, Gujarat), Kailash Choudhary (Barmer, Rajasthan)