Dear Aspirants,
As you all know that the government of India has Imposed a bill in Rajya Sabha on 14th March 2018 regarding the common test for all competitive Exams i.e. CET (Common Eligibility Test) to shortlist candidates for vacancies of Group ‘B’ (Non-Gazetted) and below level posts in the Government of India. Here our MME team is going to discus about the Details regarding CET like Reasons for conducting the exam, selection process of the Exam and the levels of the exam as follows:
Reasons for conducting CET: As per the information provided by the Commission, the SSC has had to cancel nine of its examinations, fully or partially, in past five years as follows:

SSC – Examinations cancelled in past five years

Sl. No.

Name of Examination Cancelled



Combined Graduate Level Examination (CGLE), 2013

Various irregularities and malpractices


Combined Higher Secondary Level Examination (CHSLE), 2013

Non-issue of admit card to the total no. of 432 candidates.


CGLE, 2014

Loss of post examination material


CHSLE, 2014

Cheating and malpractice cases at Raipur, Chandigarh, Allahabad and Delhi.


Constable (GD) Examination, 2015

Cheating cases


SI / CAPF Examination, 2016

Leakage of question papers (OMR mode)


MTSE (NT), 2016

Leakage of question papers (OMR mode)


CGLE, 2016 (CBE – Tier I)

CGLE, 2016 (CBE – Tier II)

Leakage of question paper

Server glitches affecting 9571 candidates

The cancellation of the exam leads many other problems like bad image of the commission, wastage of time/money & efforts of the aspirants as well as the commission.
Therefore, the Committee recommends that learning from the past experiences, the Commission should spare no efforts in making the process of examination free from all types of malpractices and technical glitches. In addition to this, regular audit of the hardware and software should be carried out by government agencies for making the examination foolproof.
The Commission Conducting CET:
The SSC (Staff Selection Commission) has been taken the responsibility for conducting Common Eligibility Test (CET) from next year, the Commission has promised to conduct the exam in a fair and efficient manner, free from all malpractices.
Selection Process of CET: The selection process of the exam is mainly divided into two stages as follows:
(i) Tier-I: This stage of the examination is common screening test subsuming the preliminary Tier-I examinations conducted by all recruiting agencies of the Government of India, viz. SSC, Railways, Banking, etc.
(ii) Tier-II: The main Examinations to be conducted independently by the concerned recruiting agencies.
Registration for CET:
Candidates would mandatorily have to register themselves on a dedicated portal developed by the National Career Services (NCS) of the Ministry of Labour & Employment, which would generate a unique ID for each candidate.
Levels of the examination:  CETs would be conducted at three levels as follows:
(i) Matriculation Level
(ii) Higher Secondary (10+2) Level
(iii) Graduation Level
Note: It has been proposed that in the Financial Year 2018-19, only one level of CETs, i.e. at the Graduation Level, would be conducted in February 2019. In the successive year(s), all the three levels of examination would be conducted.
Validity of CET Exam: The Government has the proposal to make CET scores valid for a period of two years. The candidates would use their scores for appearing in Tier-II examinations, which would be conducted independently by the respective recruiting agencies. There is also scope for the CET scores to be used by State Governments / Public Sector Undertakings / Private Sector for recruitment of their manpower.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top